Running Over Her

If you say you are undone
I’d use my tongue to write every word of my favorite poem
letter by letter
onto you:
V.E.R.D.E.
Q.U.E.
T.E.
Q.U.I.E.R.O.
V.E.R.D.E.

And then again in lower case.

I’d hum a lullaby with my lips pressed up to
every shadow of a bruise or scar
you’ve ever had
until blood pulsates in each capillary.

You would never go to sleep again – thinking that no one ever wanted you
down to each molecule
because that evening
I’d remind you that to me you are wholeness and captivating strength.
I can’t see the seams from the times you pulled yourself together.

Leave a Reply

