Filling

I don’t know who to tell so I speak it into silence
just to hear it buzz around me at night.
“I miss you”
I miss you.
I miss you.

I wish I could find a pair of eyes that haven’t changed like mine have,
to see us when we were better
who you used to be alongside who I used to be.
On occasion I am comforted thinking I’m the only thing that changed.
I need to imagine you stagnant to imagine you holding me back,
but if it’s true
that you were always changing,
Maybe I was not quite as quick as I thought.
Maybe I even fit the jigsaw edge of our town better than you.

I do wonder,
though.
I don’t agree with the person I was.
And so what does that say about
the friends to that stranger?

Leave a Reply

