If it grows back at all

I have been dealt the creative task
of somehow integrating my resources into
a way of survival.
My forest is on fire. The leaves fall charred
and lungs that filled with smoke now
don’t fill at all. I have a choice to stay
and put the fire out – and eventually I will –
but the soil, the leaves that remain,
the bark, the branches: it’s all kindling.
and It never rains. It never rains.
And it will be on fire again.
Or I have a choice to leave my forest behind
and never see if it
grows back green.
So the question becomes
How much do
I love green?

Leave a Reply

