Agua de Coco

I recall my life in foods I ate,
raised in limes
and chicharrones and black beans
when I lived in the shadow of a palm leaf.

bananas and brown paper bags
have a certain sweet smell when they rot in the summer.
It has only ever brought bright yellow memories.

Much later
me and my love
Sometimes we tried takeout.
How often have I said to you that
The best is sticky rice, cold?
She loves the coconut rice
oh
it is of course as soft and as powerful as she is.
What a subdued strength.
The soap on her belly and the oil on her hands
are coconut, too.
She brings me back to the palm leaves and
I realize I never wanted to go.
I’m not going anywhere.

Leave a Reply

