Brought to me

Angel that cast the shadow on my skylight
I wonder, that if love can be one-sided,
can romance? When the moments that twang my heart
are the shivers I’m certain I hold alone,
instead of tasting the honey right out of your veins;
You offer them to me but I take your words instead.
What does intimate moment look like without touch?
– when I’m in it, I’m sure.

I say you are a breath of fresh air,
I mean all air. All air.
I mean the air made fresh by cleansing rain.
The air made fresh by sterilizing sun.
Made fresh by a wash of fog,
by honest night,
by stars and the moon.
I say you are a breath of fresh air.
Oh you are all that I breathe.

The ache in your ribs you get from love
is not your heart at all;
your lungs swell full for the first time.

Leave a Reply

