Quaint Eggshells

I’m not ever reminded of you
outside of stale conversation,
stiff sheets, and un-cycled air.
Sometimes it’s a fresh (or as
fresh as it can be, given) and
dull hit, but never am I hurt.
Barely when you wanted me to be.
You are only crystallized emotion
but what do you evoke in others?

Granted, I went into it all with
old hands, so the chances that the
eight things you said would be
something I’d heard – were high.
I thought us a Venn diagram but I think
our overlap was where your portion
was being swallowed whole. If you beg to
differ, well, that would be bold of you.

Leave a Reply

