Sweet when left alone

Just make sure you don’t
mix your blood with mine.

I have quite enjoyed these mornings
and it is an easy thing –
forgetting for the sake of a social survival –
but in a 5 year period as your language hung on
my tongue and teeth much like honey binds the fingers,
I never grew attached to much outside of myself
and whatever love song I’ve written ten thousand
times while staring at your lips
will turn sour out of pure repetition.
The fundamentals of ignorant joy.
The fundamentals: joy, ignorance.

Leave a Reply

