Lover Leaves

I am yours the way the sky is yours.
You have all permission to love
but I belong solely to the earth.

Elusive flyer.
Expectation and timeline exist outside
of existing.
and being lost to others does not mean being lost to yourself.
For once,
let yourself slip out.
Let yourself slip out.
Imagine being waited for rather than being the one who waits.
Feel nothing but eyes on the back of your head or
heads turned up at the unparted clouds you sleep between
You turned to me in a metro car and said,
“I have had my heartbroken by others’ ‘fresh starts’.”
I said,
“Then you don’t know the feeling that is
loving yourself more than your lover.”

Leave a Reply

